Slalom

Tony and I had our Biobank appointments yesterday. We were there for a couple of hours having a batch of health tests. Because Biobank is a research project we are anonymous so if the tests show up something worrying, we won't find out but we are given a printout of the basic health measurements at the end. The last time we were called in was in 2009 when I was at the height of my stressedness as a teacher. I was pleased yesterday that several of my results are much better than three years ago and all within the range for my age. I guess you can say that semi retirement and a job I can leave in the office at the end of the day were a good move!

I biked to work today and had an interesting journey in the dark on several different surfaces. There was the squish and crunch of the gritted main roads, the semi frozenness of Bents Lane (probably a good thing I couldn't see what was going on under my tyres on this stretch!), followed by the compacted snow on Harrop Lane - the slalom! Anyone out and about would have wondered what the squealing was all about as I rode the whole gamut of emotions from excitement to terror! That was quite fun but the housing estate above school certainly wasn't. Ungritted, it seemed that every resident had done their own thing to clear their patch resulting in slippy bits, piles of ice and crunchy terrors, phew! I took the main road on the way home but I had to have another go at the slalom and so this is it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.