Walk This Way

Morning run straight after school drop off.

Many people like this man use this path as part of their commute to work and it fascinates me that people will have walked this way to work over a century ago and seen the same views ( the mill that is not some woman running in triple layer thermals and a wooly hat slipping off at a jaunty angle).

An over blipped view but one I never tire of when running/cycling. I am indeed lucky to live here.

In other news swimming... ...Now then Mrs green swimming costume lady, if you are leaving the changing rooms with your hair done up in a chignon with tendrils casually hanging down AND a full set of make up I wager you are not really going to be doing an Ellie Simmonds. DON'T GO IN THE FAST LANE!

Was having this conversation with my sister: what happens at swimming is a terminable upgrade disaster. The people in the slow lane get frustrated by a handful of people who just stand there and discuss Take a Break and Jeremy Kyle who clearly have extreme hydrophobia and don't move more than a metre in half an hour, the said frustrated people upgrade to the middle lane and swim at a slow lane pace. The people in the middle lane get frustrated with the slow swimmers and upgrade to the fast lane. The fast lane is just chaos then as us frustrated fast swimmers either get a foot in the mouth or groin, have to stop and tread water or they do the inevitable which is to create an extra overtaking lane without any mutually understood highway code ( this happens on both the away and return journey so it's double overtaking lane overtaking chaos) There are limbs crashing all over the place. In this upgrade system where do the fast swimmers go??? The next lane was the lifeguard's lap and in all honesty that was never going to be a dignified choice.

I am all for everyone doing sport and I know everyone has a different pace: I was crap at biking when I started again a few months ago but I would not stand still on my bike and just block a cycle lane in the middle of Bradford and start discussing daytime TV and magazines , that's what coffee mornings are for ( allegedly, you can't see me at one of them can you !)

I may have to write to my MP, that is clearly after I have taken part in the latest episode of Grumpy Old Women they are on the phone now....

xxx

Tune

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.