The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Social distancing in the cemetery

A week ago, on our family chat group, I suggested that soon enough, if we were to be placed under lockdown, I'd be taking country walks in the cemetery. My elder brother, who lives in Greece, thought this a macabre suggestion. He has lived in Greece for about thirty years and had forgotten that, in the UK, cemeteries can be quiet, charming places or even nature reserves. Ours is both.

The Socially distanced walking was tricky in the fields today, as the path is both steep narrow. I though there were people in the fields and even in the stream who might have been gathering, so I scrambled up the bank and went home via the cemetery, which very close by.
It was warm and tranquil, and I rested awhile. I found the grave of Enza, a lovely Italian lady I used to know, a neighbour of a friend, Sue, who has also departed this life. I wondered if I should be glad that they were not alive to witness this current pandemic : Enza, of course, because she was from Italy. Living in Interesting Times can sometimes be harder than ever imagined.

In other news, I've got tremendously sick of putting on yet another load of washing, then hanging it out to dry. It's beyond tedious. Tomorrow there will be No clothes washing, I promise. I've also started spring cleaning lite, a terrible process because the house is filled with dust bunnies. We do not have help,(though sometimes I feel a need to shout Help!) and I'm so exhausted, usually, from juggling various jobs, that cleaning and tidying have slipped away to the bottom of the list. Now I'm at home all the time, I'm wondering how the house ever got into such a terrible mess. CleanSteve helps out, of course, but neither of us has the dusting gene.

What will tomorrow bring?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.