The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Springtime in Stratford Park

Big news: I've joined the vaccination helpers! Yesterday I had a call from a friend who works in a surgery. She wanted to set up a meeting between me and the practice manager, who needs a bit of help with the vaccination roll out. Another woman and I were talked through the booking system, then left to make some calls. I managed to book two people in for tomorrow. Then the staff room got noisy so we left, and I visited Tesco's, then took myself to the park, where I lay on the grass and watched trees and people. Walked home, did a few things, then had to go out again to another surgery, where my friend introduced me to the booking-in system for the vaccination clinic.

Everyone is so friendly! It's very busy; a lot of elderly people needed wheelchair assistance or other forms of support. These were the people having their second jab. Occasionally there are bottlenecks but generally the system works exceedingly well. I was proud to be part of it, though I found it difficult to hear people's surnames when I asked them, because we were all wearing masks and lip reading is not possible. Also, don't people have some funny surnames? I thought it was just me.

After the last patients scheduled for 18.20 had arrived, we packed up and left. I rushed home because I had a film to watch by webinar. It was called Beyond the Mask and was about Grief and Grieving for the death of a loved one. You can find out more about it and other films through the charity called the Good Grief Project.

A sudden knock at our door startled me. It was a friend from the other side of town, who had happened to be passing. I let her in, because it was cold and dark, and she wore a mask the whole time. She had her first jab last weekend whereas Steve and I had ours in January. Steve fed her on hot fried potatoes and cold pizza. I gave her crisps to take away. We watched the film and discussed it, gently.

My stomach still aches from eating peanuts and cooking with peanut butter yesterday. It's a colossal nuisance finding that one of the main ingredients in this diet book is something I cannot digest. Must try smooth almond butter next time..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.