The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Our Space

I will never forget the first time I stepped into the Guggenheim Museum. I remember, standing in awe, trying to comprehend the importance and grandeur of the space. I wanted to know all about the Guggenheim Family and the incredible foresight they had. I knew, within seconds of walking into the building, that this structured space was a gift to humanity for all time.

I was a child then. And, while it was not the first time I had stepped into a landmark building, it was the first time that I had the consciousness to understand the importance of its existence. I knew it. I got it. I more than understood it.

Yet, the older I get, the more I appreciate the importance of well-designed public spaces. These buildings and parks create the venues in which we celebrate the spirit of humanity. These areas are where we feel civilized and connected and where we renew our quest for further understanding of "who and where and what and when and why and how". These spaces are the anecdote to the McMansions that seem to grow like weeds from our land.

We have many such public places in the Twin Cities, most cities fortunately do. But no other public building in our town thrusts you so deeply back into nature while you are within as does the Guthrie Theatre. While the Guthrie looks cold and steely and blue from the exterior, once you walk into it, you cannot help but feel warmly sheltered and yet seemlessly outside. It is a paradox that resonates deeply within on a cold winter's day.

I simply cannot spend enough time "outdoors" within this building.

You have seen the exterior of this room a few days ago in this Blip that was in color. It is the "yellow room" or, more formally, the Dowling Studio. It is my favorite public space in our city. I am delighted to share it with you. If you have time, please see the riverscape in large where you will see the Stone Arch Bridge, perhaps the most famous landmark in Minneapolis. It is a much different image in large.

Surprised, thankful, humble, lucky, and appreciative I am tonight. It was a great honor to receive a staff pick, especially after a very tough week of nonstop work with little blip time and very few chances to capture photos. There were so many wonderful images this week that were more deserving of a staff pick that I feel very blessed this evening. I have only one complaint: Given that it is expected to be -4F here tonight, I wish the crown had earflaps.

Please have an amazing weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.