The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Lamponi di Mamma

Raspberries are near and dear to my heart. When I was growing up, we never were able to get them very often, especially in the winter. Unlike now, our daily intake of "exotic" fruits and veggies seemed to be far more seasonal. In the summer, we pillaged an occasional bush (when the home owners were away that is) and hoped that my mother found them at the market.

Fresh raspberries were a luxury and the eating of such was the high point of the week. I can remeber the smile on my mother's face when she declared she had fresh raspberries, knowing well what joy it brought to her son.

Today, I am a bit "raspberry spoiled". I have them most every morning and evening. Yet, rarely, do I eat them when I do not think about my mother and I "fighting" over who got the last one.

Tonight, after a long day of travel and badly in need of a blip, this was my dessert. Too lazy to summon appropriate lens or light, I blipped them in the light of the room with the dining light overhead pulled low. Surely, they deserved better photgraphic treatment. But, as I ate them, I was content (and thinking of my mom).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.