Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

We've sprung forward!

Sunday again today and the clocks had gone forward, which means, friends in India, that you are now only 4.5 hours ahead of us. I woke to sunshine and took part in an online morning Eucharist from Inverness then a worship service from Ps&Gs.
After lunch, I got stuck into the back garden and finally finished what I set out to do. I've been over the entire thing with a hand fork and weeded it within an inch of its life, which should last at least a couple of days, lol! I've also redone my pots, some have annuals in them and I've usually got lots of summer colour in them too but presumably there will be less this year. I don't know if I'll manage to get hold of any bedding plants. I'm also being very 'wimpy' about getting my lettuce, pea and sweet pea seeds in. I usually do my veg from small plants, so am a little unsure about sowing and what proportion of seeds to expect results from.
I do love my sweet peas though so I'll need to get going.
One bonus was that we'd never got around to harvesting my potato sacks so I emptied the first of those. There was 1.5kg in it and we'd already had enough for a couple of meals from it too. Bodes well for the other 4 sacks.
We had a long video chat via Messenger with friends from Rhode Island this afternoon. They've been self isolating since coming back from holiday a couple of weeks ago. Living in the same house as their children but keeping apart. As has been happening in the North of Scotland, Cornwall and the Lakes, there have been a lot of people going to their area to get away from the cities. It was really nice to catch up , we're going to do so regularly.
I had a real urge to have an Indian meal tonight. We're lucky there is a take away less than 100 yds away which is still open, so we shared a delicious chicken biryani, beautifully flavoured. I have a fear that the take aways may close, the two chinese restaurants at the bottom of the hill are closed for the duration, I do like the variation in flavours that having the occasional take away gives.
It's lovely to have daylight till 7pm again, the lighter nights make things much more pleasant.
Stay home as much as possible and stay safe everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.