The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Friends Of Bute Park

And so the day arrived!

I don't know why but I was far less nervous about this talk than the one I did for the RHS show last year. It turns out talking about garden birds is much easier than talking about yourself!

Once again we had projector issues, and had to go through the talk without my PowerPoint show, but I had written it so it would work either way.

It just flowed nice, people laughed when they should have and I had lots of positive feedback after I had finished, and the lovely people of The Friends Of Bute Park have asked me to come back.

I didn't do the walk talk (if that makes sense), they had a far more experienced bird watcher than I taking that. He suffered the first law if birds watching walks, everything hid! We were so lucky with the weather, and it was great to get out in the fresh air after being cooped up in snow bound Tonyrefail for a week.

We went for a walk on our own after we had finished for the day, didn't see a lot to be honest. We did see a pair of nuthatches and a cormorant which caught a fish nearly as big as itself!

Fair play its been a rather good day. Tomorrow I see how the professionals do it. We are seeing Mike Dilger, from the One Show, at Llanelli Wetlands. Looking forward to that!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.