The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Mike Dilger And Other Animals

What a fantastic weekend.

I woke up still on a high after yesterday. I thoroughly enjoyed the day, and I knew after it was all done and dusted I had today's visit to Llanelli WWT to see Mike Dilger as part of Big Nine Day Challenge. Mike is doing a talk in each of the WWT centres on nine consecutive sites. It's quite a feat when you consider that the nine centres cover all four corners of the United Kingdom and Ireland. Tonight was night three for him. He was in fine form. He's doing it to raise funds for the Spoonbill Sandpiper Appeal, one of the most endangered birds in the world that the WWT and other NGO's are trying to save from extinction.

We took mum and dad, as it was dads birthday present. Mike knows dad and quite often asks about him on Twitter, and when we were at Bird Fair last summer. He kept referring him to as "the legend of broadcasting", which was quite funny! He also kept picking on me during his talk. We chat quite a lot on twitter, so it was rather cool to be made a sort of side show part to his show. I asked him a question at the end. Well I had been asked the same question three times walking around Bute Park the day before. The question was "Where have all my garden birds gone?". Mike asked me how answered, I said the change in the weather back to warm and wet would have made them return to their natural habitat, fresh food helps, putting some water out, predators about will scare them off, he said they were all excellent answers .. so I guess I might be doing something right.

I liked this photo as Mike said he felt he was prop in the Welsh Front Row!

Here's a couple more from what was a brilliant day out!

Mike Dilger At Llanelli WWT #1

Mike Dilger At Llanelli WWT #2 (My Favourite!)

Mike Dilger At Llanelli WWT #3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.