The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

The Best Lungs In The Business!

How can something this small belt out a song so loud?

I came across the lovely little wren blasting out her amazing tune at Newport Wetlands today. She very obligingly gave her rendition on a near by branch and wasn't overly fussed by my presence. It was quite some performance, and incredibly loud! More little signs that spring is on it's way, although today in Uskmouth we had Spring, Winter and Summer in a fifteen minute spell. One minute I was peeling layers off as I was so warm, the next I was donning gloves and beanie hats to keep warm ... utterly bonkers weather!

Not a bad visit, the day list was 20+ birds. I managed to tick off all the thrushes, in amongst a flock of Starlings and Blackbirds there were Redwings, Song Thrushes and Mistle Thrushes. All feeding up on the various hawthorn and other berry bushes on the reserve.

The Glossy Ibis from a few days back was in the fields near the Little Owls

Shattered this evening now after a long day!

Some more photos from today are in my Newport Wetlands Winter Flickr Set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.