In Transit

I went to bed last night with the snow still falling hard and a little worried about how the trains and planes would be functioning this morning. I'd usually be disappointed to wake up to see that a thaw had started but not today. For the first time in almost two weeks it was obvious that the temperature had crept above zero. Although there was loads of fresh snow about there were only minimal delays on the railways and I was able to enjoy the luxury of a relaxed journey through Manchester Airport. Perhaps a word of thanks is due to the dedicated workforce who have actually done a pretty damn good job this last few weeks of keeping the transport system running smoothly. They certainly did a good job last night. I'm very grateful.

This shot is taken in the tube that connects the railway terminal to the airport at Manchester. I'm normally running through here, short of time and worried about missing my flight. Having given myself more time today because of the weather I was actually able to stop today and take some photographs. Despite rather enjoying the luxury of spare time today I know myself well enough not to expect to be able to stop to get another such shot again! This therefore had to be blipped.

TJ and I have enjoyed a bit of history this afternoon. After a tour of the National Museum here in Dublin, she is now introducing me to some of my very ancient ancestors. She's succeeded in joining my family tree with hers! We're distant cousins, but sufficiently far removed not to be of concern!! So far this evening I've met Tuathal MacAugaire O'Muiredaig (Ireland), Thorstein the Red (Viking Chiefton) Olafsson (Iceland), Alpin MacAlpin (Scotland), Vladimir The Great (Grand Prince Kiev-Czar Svyatoslavich) Rurikide (Russia), Bjorn "The Ungartered" Buna Grimsson (Norway), Gorr Thorasson Kvenland (Finland), plus countless kings and queens.

What is most amazing that all these people, from whom we can both trace a direct line, and living over a thousand years ago, and seemingly roaming and inter-marrying over the whole of Northern Europe. It's totally fascinating. We've both got a hunger for knowledge as to who all these people really were and the kinds of lives they led. It's also led me to think about the utter improbability of the two of us sitting next to each other here. If any one of those ancient ancestors had got an axe to the head in a battle we simply wouldn't be here! I shall leave you with that thought. Another pint of Guinness beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.