Photogen

By Photogen

View to the Arrochar Alps

I awoke to beautiful sunshine this morning after yesterday's virtual white-out. Only a 15 minutes drive away, along the Stockiemuir Road, lies the Queens View on a hillock at the foot of Auchineden Hill. I could see storm clouds were closing in from the north and it would be touch and go whether the sun had gone by the time I got there. The roads were well gritted so there was no trouble on that score, although the viewpoint car park with its downward sloping access was covered in virgin snow. Fun getting out, I thought, but then a local snow plough steamed along in due course and removed that potential hazard.
The view I selected was north-east to the peaks at Arrochar which were still in a pocket of sunshine, but only just - as a dark cloud mass was swirling around the mountain tops. Families began arriving with sledges as the north face of Auchineden Hill always has a good covering of snow long after it has disappeared elsewhere. However, I reckon that most Blippers have seen enough sledging pictures for this year! I have uploaded four other photos from this excursion to my Landscape Blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.