This dredger has been siting in the Inverness harbour for couple of weeks. Haven't seen any sign of it being used as yet, though as a Blipper, I'm keeping it under surveillance! Suspect it may be here for the occasional clearing that's done of the harbour area.

Took a few of the typical wide angled lens shots, with one of the hawsers (thick ropes) leading you from a hook/bollard on the quay, towards the boat. But didn't like them as you couldn't see enough of the shape of this (rather tatty and ugly!) craft. I'd been careful to align everything that was projecting skyward off the boat, so that they weren't overlapping.

This was a single last snap as I was heading off. Much prefer it to the more carefully composed ones... though I missed the lighting tower that's lined up with the large rear stabiliser. Cropped this a bit. As I was using a zoom lens, if I'd zoomed in slightly, that wouldn't have been necessary. Have just (perhaps daftly) been trying to use the lens at its widest angle, as can be seen from the last few Blips. Narrower views back tomorrow.

Further upstream, I was surprised by a noise from behind me. I turned to see a common seal that had popped up for a look about. First I've seen in the town area for a few years. High and Spring tide making it easier for it to move upstream. The furthest upstream I've seen one, was a couple of hundred yards down from the weir where the river starts by Dochgarroch. That was between Christmas and New Year about ten years ago, whilst in a group kayaking down the river. No photographic evidence of today's seal, or the older siting. A telephoto lens would have been handier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.