Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Dark Blue Tiger

Update - correct ID is Tirumala septentrionis.

After seeing so many butterflies at the grove the other day, I decided to go back today and continue my recent foray into butterflies. There was plenty of variation and I captured a few more images of delias, but that was blipped only two days ago and it was the same species.

This grassy tiger soon caught my eye and I had to chase it all over the park before it eventually gave in and allowed me a blip.

It was fairly easy to identify down to genus level, but beyond that there is a lot of miss-information and I could see differences.

People are too quick to slap a species name on a bug, without doing the proper research. If you cannot identify to species level, then people should just post the genus. People are posting to species just because it looks similar and then others follow suit when they see the image. Even the supposedly reliable sites like wiki and EOL are plastered with errors.

Still, forget the name and bask in the shear beauty of this gorgeous butterfly.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.