Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Lime Butterfly

Papilio demoleus

I went to the grove early this morning to continue my butterfly series, but I had forgotten that the light does not reach the grove until after 9am due to the high trees lining the stream. So, rather than run the gauntlet of the ferocious grove mosquitoes, I moved on to my regular patch a few kilometers up the road.

That too was fairly devoid of bugs. I collected a few spider images for my records, but no real intention of blipping them. I really wanted a butterfly, even if it meant coming back later. The sun was shining in the clear sky, so it should be only minutes before the butterflies start moving.

I spotted today's little sleeping gem about six feet into a paddy, hanging from a water bamboo plant. You can tell it was sleeping by the water droplets on its head. I took the available shots with the butterfly at an oblique angle. After some severe cropping, there would still be enough for a reasonable blip, but I wanted more. I stared at the prize for about ten minutes. Do I chase it with my monopod and risk losing it all together or do I go in after it!

The decision was made and I flipped off my flops. I planned my route to avoid the plethora of long jawed spiders and shlurped my way into position. With the mud half way up my shins and balance precarious, I kind of lost my enthusiasm for photography, but I took care and checked the test shots for exposure and bracketed to make sure that I definitely had some keepers.

On the way back to the bank, I lost my balance. I managed to stop my fall with my left hand sunk upto my elbow in the black sloppy mud, but at least the camera was safe. A couple of paddies further on there was water running from one paddy to the next, here I was able to wash up and dry my feet with the hand towel that is part of my blip kit.

Ironically, only minutes later, the blip monster presented me with a great mormon butterfly in full wing spread display. I have been trying to blip one of these for months, but there was only going to be one shot to be posted today and it wasn't the mormon. The blip monster certainly has a sense of humor.

So, after all this effort, I hope you appreciate the beauty of this little darling.

DAve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.