Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Rolling boil

I've never managed to successfully do this kind of shot before today. Either my lens got steamed up or there were other technical problems. Today, however I knew exactly how I was going to do it, and it worked.

This is the 'after' shot to the 'before' I did a couple of days ago. To be honest I bought them to photograph rather than eat, but it was a shame to let them go to waste.

I'd only really eaten artichokes in California before, where they are enormous, green and very hard work to eat.

These are much smaller and after a ten minute boil in acidulated water tasted quite complex and interesting. I then cut off most of the leaf, leaving the fleshy part at the base then trimmed back the stem. On globes this size there was no choke to pull away. Lovely with lemon vinaigrette.

On another subject entirely. My pictures are being used to illustrate a new track by folk singer Reg Meuross called My name is London Town. Please have a listen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.