Fernando Cohen

By fernandocohen

Lunch time

Do you ever have any kind of general philosophy?
Yes, a dedication to photography and freedom. That's all I want. I don't want a lot of money. Freedom is the paramount thing - the freedom to work. It's very hard in our times, with all the material abundance around us, to have it. We're distracted - we want this and we want that.

Materialistic considerations have never been terribly important to you then?
Well, up to a point, they are. I have to buy film! I'm concerned about money, but that's not my goal. I want to have enough money to be free - this is the ultimate wealth. People like Paul Strand and Stieglitz had money. I don't know how much, but enough to be free.

Do you feel you have enough freedom?
More than ever and for the first time in my life. Last year I had the freedom to travel and I had the equipment I wanted and the kind of car I wanted.

Is there anything that you are trying to show people through your photographs?
No. I don't photograph for other people. I love an audience, mind you. Once I've got them there, then I love an audience. Not a big audience, though. I'd rather please ten people I respect than ten million I don't. But I don't play to an audience, I do it for myself.

Brett Weston (Edward Weston's son)

Dialogue with Photography, Paul Hill & Thomas Cooper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.