Hailes Castle

As has happened a lot lately I woke up really early.  I was quite awake and thought I would get up and finish my book.  Alas, I must have nodded off and I woke up again over two hours later!  I think all this being at home has affected my body clock.

TT had some work to do this morning, so I took BB out for a wee walk.  We were quite surprised to spot a naked gardener along the road, adjusting his sprinkler in his front garden – I kid you not!!  He went and hid down the side of his house when he spotted us!!  However when we came back, he was still there.  All I can say is that he didn’t have any white bits, so it probably isn’t the first time he has been out gardening  sans clothes.

After lunch, TT was ready for a walk, so off we went.  We planned our route, which was to be moderately long, but a lovely afternoon for it, all the fields are so green and the sky was so blue.  However, when we got to the point where I thought we would walk back along the river, TT suggested an alternative route home.  So off we went.  It was longer and although a lovely walk, my poor knee started to play up – probably overuse this weekend, so I was walking quite slowly.  The route takes you through a field that must have been really churned up by cattle when it was really wet.  It is on a step bit of ground, running down to  stream and is really difficult to walk on, with a real risk of going over your ankle, or twisting your knee (in my case).  It’s not a long distance, but it is hard going and it would still be a long walk home with an additional injury.

We eventually made it home, and thank goodness for the curry that I cooked yesterday.  It just needed to be finished off while the rice cooked. 

TT phoned his mum, who is thankfully on the mend after being poorly last weekend – not COVID-19 thankfully, and I ordered a few things for birthday presents and a few food treats for this week.

This is where we walked down to the river near Hailes Castle.  We then walked up and round the side of Traprain Law.  I like the shape of the tree in the extra.  It looks quite different from the last time I blipped it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.