Sledging

School was off again, TT’s work was closed and the buses and trains were off, so I had no way of getting to work.  We all had a snow day.  I have been telling BB that there was no such thing as a snow day when I was at school and I can clearly remember trudging through really deep snow to school, hardly anyone else turned up and hardly any teachers made it in  - but the school still didn’t close.  We had to sit in a class room all day – with nothing to do!  Those were the days.

I was at an immediate loose end, and after contacting work colleague to let them know that I couldn’t get in to work, I baked some cakes and made a pot of soup.  Once that was done I started to knit a hat – which seemed appropriate given the weather.  TT worked all mooring while BB didn’t move from the sofa.  After lunch we went sledging.  We had to trudge through the snow to get to the same place that the boys went yesterday, and we chose the worst part of the day as it was an almost constant blizzard.  We didn’t go to quite the same spot that they had gone too yesterday as it was just too exposed and we couldn’t see it, even though it was just behind where we sledged.  I haven’t sledged for years, and felt like I was on the cresta run!  BB reminded us that his class were supposed to be doing a sponsored cycle today!

I had also forgotten how hard work sledging is, always having to trudge back up the hill – not helped by the blizzard.  We all got cold and I was glad when BB decided to call it a day.  We came home via the supermarket, which was quite empty – but we did manage to get some bread.

It was then home for tea and a quiet evening in front of the fire.  We were all a bit weary after our sledging expedition.

Here is BB trudging back up the hill with his sledge in a blizzard.  The extras show him sledging down in the blizzard, and the a tree (which features in the other two shots) when the blizzard paused.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.