Snowy Rooftops

Very early this morning the Council announced that all schools would be closed today.  TT was still on strike, so his job for the day was daddy day-care.  I headed off to get the bus as usual and my journey to work went absolutely fine – I didn’t think there was that much snow.  The office was like the marie celeste due to schools being closed and trains being badly disrupted.  My team turned out in good numbers though.

Like yesterday the weather moved rapidly between white out and sunshine.   Late morning, it was suggested that anyone who needed a train should consider going home, then around 1pm a note came out to all staff advising us to consider how we were getting home.  I had been keeping in touch with the buses and all seemed fine, so I was in no rush.  I eventually left he office just after 2pm and didn’t get home till three hours later.  The roads were not in great shape, but I am so grateful that the buses were running.  Chatting to the lady next to me, we were both agreed that we wouldn’t like to be the person driving the bus. 

The afternoon, which I had already planned, was over by the time I got home.  Town felt strange, in that there weren’t that many people going about, but that is because they were all hanging around at bus stops.  I don’t think I have never seen so many people waiting at all the bus stops.

The boys had a good day sledging, though it was bitterly cold.

Another day without much in the way of blip opportunities, but here are some Edinburgh rooftops – with a dusting of snow, grabbed hastily as I waited on a bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.