Tasty Mouthful

I've been spending some sessions outdoors trying to get shots of the great tits coming and going from their nest.. More difficult than I expected! Not like catching one of the many at the bird feeding station.

Because nest boxes should be located in the shade, the ISO has to be high to get fast speeds. Alas! My speed wasn't fast enough for the flying shots and neither was my trigger finger!

They follow a predictable pattern when approaching the nest but, even so, it's difficult, even on burst, to catch the moment.

Something surprising happened while I was out doing the shots. All day we had been getting a redpoll visiting our niger feeder, not a common bird in our area. Well, as I was sitting outside, I heard a bird on the feeders and gently turned my head to watch the redpoll feeding only 4' away from me. i was mesmerised by it. Here's one I took earlier of it in Extras, through the window.


Lockdown Day 74 Good thing today:  The redpoll experience

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.