jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Superheroes

Another morning where Bear woke up and looked to where Daddy should be, a bit sadly. Then jumped on my head instead.

Can't believe he was up that early: although Bean was ready for bed quite early yesterday the Bear was Not, and spent a while jumping on the sofas downstairs instead. Gaaah.

We had another playdate today with a family from church, Bean has been getting to know Isaiah a bit at church and at playgroup, and I've been meaning to get to know Chantal, so a playdate was a good thing! We were only meant to be there for the morning but Bean and Isaiah got along like a house on fire - never seen a playdate like it!!! Not once did they bicker, argue or fight, and although I can hardly say we barely heard a peep out of them (they were noisy) you get the idea! Bean didn't want to come home for lunch. Didn't want to go to school. Didn't want to cone home for tea either, after we ended up staying the entire afternoon as well!! More playdates needed, it was a Good Day :) Great to get to know Chantal as well, really good! Chatted about everything and anything, watched as her daughter got on with schoolwork, taught her how to wrap a sari (I learnt years ago and am pleased I can still remember) because she was learning about India, learnt what the colours of the Indian flag represent (the only one I remember now (it's Saturday night now) is saffron orange, representing courage).

Bean and Isaiah must've dressed up in everything available. They were superheroes first (as in the picture), then a policeman and a race car driver, then a builder and mechanic - and they superheroed, and they raced and chased, and the built and fixed things. Then they were doctors and poor Chantal endured toy syringes and needles and tooth pullers and all sorts before they decided farming was the next game and disappeared back off upstairs.

We got home and had hot chocolates as a treat before I started making dinner. I'd promised Bean we'd have cheese sauce and pasta. We've not had that in three weeks, since I decided at Grandma and Grandad's house that I was fed up of him not even trying new things. He's a LOT better at trying things now, although at the moment I'm my own worst enemy because I'm struggling with motivation to cook while Steve is away!

Anyway. He refused to eat it. It was all wrong, it was the wrong flipping temperature of all things. I told him (I won't lie!) how upset and disappointed I was, how insulted I was that he'd not eaten any. Stormed off to fold a nappy and he came and found me and said "I'm sorry mummy. Sorry about the cheese sauce and pasta." Turned out he had a tummyache from the hot chocolate earlier, and couldn't eat anything :( poor sausage. "Are we friends again, mummy?"

Maaaan that caught me out. Big cuddle. We made friends. I apologised for grumping. And prayed he wasn't going to throw up.

Bedtime was an earlyish one and I'd hoped to get some drawing done while the boys were asleep but Bear was not a happy little Bear and appeared to not be able to manage more than about ten minutes without me next to him. Even when I gave up and put him in the meitai to sleep he took a very long time to drop off. Of course that's just when I gave up waiting for Steve to wake up so we could chat on skype, and I went to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.