1/29 reflection

Gosh it's been cold today. And windy, too. -3 this morning, touching zero at lunchtime, sunny and windy. (Ok that's not as cold as we've experienced by a long way but with the cold wind it was pretty nippy.)

Looking forward to this month of challenges! For those that want more regular pictures of the boys (mum!!) I'll keep taking them as and when, and put them up on flickr.

It's remarkably difficult to concentrate on normal morning routine when suddenly there are a handful of extra variables thrown into the mix - grandparents, lack of milk, and arrival of boxes from our old house in Manchester, which have been in storage in my old bedroom at mum and dad's house. (My brother wants to visit in the summer with his family so there is a sudden huge impetus to declutter.) Despite this I remained calm and eventually got out to playgroup. Gave some of the sourdough batter to an unexpected recipient as Estera wasn't there this morning. This other girl (who I'm sure I ought to know her name) has triplets but was really keen to give it a go so we'll see how she's getting on with it by next week!

Mum and dad have been busy already, taking down the broken wind-battered fence panels ready for us to fix the fence up properly again. They've done 3 tip trips today, taking away all the storm debris and all the rotten ex-floorboards. (The guys at the tip were on first name terms with them by the third visit!) Mum's trimmed and hemmed the curtains for our bedroom, and dad has had to have an afternoon nap as he was worn out. Steve wants to get the larder unit built in the kitchen this evening while Ben is occupied.

I've baked cakes.

I can do cakes.

(They are going down well too!)


Ben fell asleep on the sofa watching Toy Story while we had our dinner, having eaten his already. I think he really is going through a growth spurt, mentally and physically. Exhausting stuff, evidently!

And Charley bless him has been complaining about the quality of his milk today - doesn't appear too enthralled with the curry I had last night and has puked up after every feed and not just a little either. Sadly (for him) (and for me, I suppose, as it's me who gets puked on) there are two more dinners' worth in the freezer! He will like curry....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.