31/31 Self Portrait

Thought I'd take my blipfoto early today as I knew when my parents arrived Ben would be bouncing off the ceiling and there'd be no chance of a mini photo session. Set the camera up and did a couple of test shots and Ben pipes up "and me, mummy!!" so here he is, butting in on my self-portrait.

Here's a proper self portrait.
And another with Ben - when he is in the right mood, he's such a natural!


I appear to have worn Ben out today!! Luckily for his grandparents who will be here by teatime he's now had a bit of a nap. Sadly for us the grandparents are not staying at our house so we will have to deal with bedtime...


Playgroup this morning - rode his bike there as it was trying to snow, and as I sat with Charley I looked around to see Ben sitting happily at the table with his juice and biscuits. Uh?! He never does that. He helped put toys away while I changed Charley's nappy; then I look up again and he's sitting on the mat for storytime, joining in. Joining in!! I have been looking after a changeling today. After lunch we went on the bus to the MILK! group where he ran laps around the room, played with the babies, talked (like, not whispered, and actually answered questions and made eye contact) to grownups, and helped tidy up at the end. Gobsmacked doesn't even come close.

What a difference a decent night makes things! Yesterday I was this close to weaning him. Today he's off the hook. I don't even remember him climbing into bed with us last night, I either didn't wake up to give him a cuddle or he just climbed in and went to sleep. Either way last night was great and this morning good as a result!

We headed to tesco on the bus after the MILK! group to get bits for dinner and Ben bless him fell asleep on the bus on the way home :) One minute he was telling me off saying I wasn't allowed another mini donut, the next his eyes were closed... He got a bit confused when I woke him up when it was time to get off the bus and headed straight for another seat rather than down the aisle to get off ;-)

Grandma and Grandad arrived in time for dinner (yummy homecooked chicken curry mmmm) and Ben dived straight in with swordfighting on the Wii and jumping all over them. He ate some rice and coloured some pictures and settled down to watch Toy Story because G&G had never seen it and were completely stumped by Ben's laser shooting them. Didn't make it to the end, he's gone off to bed after telling me off for singing the wrong song.


I have no idea what has happened to Ben this week. I guess all of a sudden he's grown up a bit more. Again. He keeps doing this. And then he will have a day where his world wobbles because his relationship with it is changing so fast and he needs to know I'm still the same, that I'm not changing.

What a boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.