Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Hieroglyphics in the Woods

"What keeps you going isn't some fine destination but just the road you're on, and the fact that you know how to drive. You keep your eyes open, you see this damned-to-hell world you got born into, and you ask yourself, 'What life can I live that will let me breathe in & out and love somebody or something and not run off screaming into the woods?' "
~Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams

I love the woods. They always make me feel at peace. The woods and water, especially rivers, give me strength and solace.

Several times a week I walk past this tree in the woods near my house, on my way down to the river. I like to imagine creative meanings for the simple trail markings - pretend they were etched by an ancient culture giving us clues to the meaning of life.

Well, I've not figured out the meaning of life, but I think that to run off screaming into the woods isn't such a bad thing - it can be very healing :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.