WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

To infinity

My subject needs no introduction. Out in the vines again, looking for blips. This is not very original, but it gave me a chance to have a bit of a fiddle with the processing. It may not look like it, but I had to brace myself to avoid being blown over by the wind.

Other than that, I had a day that was both productive and relaxing. I made some lemon curd using a method that SooB mentioned in a blip a couple of weeks ago. She described it as taking "a lot of the terror out of the process". I'm easily scared -- I found boiling a mixture with eggs in it terrifying, but it worked perfectly, producing a thick, smooth curd in a few minutes. I am most impressed. Then I used some of the curd to make Margaret Costa's Belgian brioche. I made some Belgian pears on the woodburner. I also boiled up last night's chicken for stock, roasted a butternut squash, and made butternut squash risotto for supper. And I started reading Alan Garner's new book, Boneland.

Last night we went to see les Barbeaux in Montlaur. I specifically left the big camera at home. I did take a few photos with the phone, but they were uniformly terrible -- more practice required. However, chaiselongue has already blipped them, and they haven't changed a bit -- they were even wearing the same outfits! A lively, fun band who sing in a mixture of French Spanish and Occitan. The excellent violinist did a spot of breakdancing too.

Edit: Jordicé's photos of the evening are far superior to mine :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.