Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Eventful Day

I got woken before 6 am in the morning - Argh! The garden now gets done on a Sunday morning rather than Thursday. I'd love to know why. It's been Thursday for the longest time - decades probably. Anyway, I went back to sleep and the next thing I knew, it was past 8. Yikes!

I jumped out of bed and whilst getting ready for the day, I couldn't help noticing a strange, dull yellow light in the room. I looked out the window and saw some clouds in the sky but I didn't think they were enough to diminish the light from the sun. By the shadow that I could see through the kitchen window, It looked like someone had put a giant billboard on the roof of the building. Why on earth would the landlord allow that, I wondered when I suddenly remembered friend Diane informed me of a partial solar eclipse today. Aha! Mystery solved. The birds had gone quiet as well. I got G's camera out to get pictures of how dark it looked/felt. The BBC said it was like going from a 500W to a 30W lamp.

It was all over by 11; around the time the Lavylites meeting got over. G was getting herself ready to host her own Zoom meeting. I'd set her up but something went wrong, so we spent a bit of time testing things.

I had a Zoom call with my sisters after ages. Things are getting back to normal in HK with church services being allowed again, so that made SweetArt very happy. The UAE is coming out of lockdown this week as well. Thankfully Pakistan are keeping things as they are as their numbers are rapidly increasing still.

G cancelled her evening lesson so we could race to the cemetery in Jebel Ali to visit my Dad's grave for Father's Day. I can't remember the last time I was there, but lots has changed. A new covered structure has been built so a small service can take place on the premises and the whole site is expanded.

We wended our way back through the industrial area, stopping at Umm Suqeim Park to enjoy a coffee and doughnut and do the recycling! And lastly, to really mark the day and remember my Dad, we had the local equivalent of a Magnum choc ice! :))

I've been going through an old shoebox full of photographs from the 1990s and have found some real gems which I will scan tomorrow. GK over and out.

Oh, I've put an extra to show what the day was like and how built up the Marina area. OneDrive reminded me of the 21st of June, 2012. It seems we often have very humid, hazy days on this day! Pauline was telling us yesterday in the evening that the temperature was 37 deg C, but it felt like 50, thanks to the humidity. Today, thankfully, we had a nice breeze as we drank our coffees by the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.