Weather window

I've spent the last few days waiting for a phone call from a courier company to tell me they had made it to Orkney and the large package would soon be here. I warned them that there is no such thing as a guaranteed 48 hour delivery in Orkney (Unless you're the Royal Mail and even they have to concede to storm force winds and high seas sometime) but no, no, what would I know about such sophisticated matters as travel and transport logistics.

Although I would have very much liked for the delivery to have arrived I did feel a slight smug satisfaction when not only were the ferries cancelled and enormous waves lashing the planes (joking, honest) but then I had the fun of telling them that they wouldn't complete the last bit of the journey anyway because the Churchill Barriers were closed yesterday afternoon and they couldn't get over to our island - this was met with a disbelieving silence. It was almost as if I was trying to put them off making the delivery and lying about the nasty weather.

So today, I waited. The boats were again cancelled, I wasn't actually waiting for the delivery. Just for an apologetic phone call to let me know it wouldn't arrive. Eventually they had to give in and confess it was still stuck somewhere on the mainland. They think it will get here tomorrow... I however am under no such delusions.

Meanwhile I shall just enjoy looking at the nice bit of blue skies in between the howling hail storms and snigger at those wise and patronising courier companies who think they know best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.