Curves

As usual of late, I took an elongated route from the train station to work to enjoy the fresh morning air (as fresh as it can be next to a major road). The snow was making a half-hearted effort and the sun had just risen causing the stone on the buildings to glow.

I had this little sweeping scene in mind for a while but was waiting for the day when the light was right; I think today it was!

I love these curved buildings with unusual angles and corners, (although you'd wonder why if you read the next bit). I lived in one once a few miles away; my bedroom was in a turret and none of my furniture fit in that round room! It was also opposite a scrapyard, over a major road junction that had a wonky manhole cover that clanked every time a car went over it (approximately every 5 seconds), and just beyond a railtrack that had a clattery track. There was a pub next door too. A noisy pub.

I remember my first night thinking 'What have I done!!!?' as I stayed awake in despair. I guess I should have done my research first...

In fact now I remember my first night was in February and I went to open the boiler cover to see why it was so cold, to discover... no boiler!!! It transpired they'd taken away the old one with the intention of replacing it, and then forgot.

(I know at least one blipper friend who'll have no sympathy for lack of heating....)

But on the plus side my flat had a balcony that looked over the scrapyard and major road junction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.