Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Hopper

It is difficult to follow a shot like yesterday's, such opportunities come around very rarely, even spending at least an our a day with the camera in hand, maybe five or six in a year. On the one hand, it builds your enthusiasm to get out there to find the next shot, but on the other, you just know your going to come up short. It's all comparative, best to put yesterday out of your mind and just get on with it.

I went to both locations today, hunting for a butterfly shot. I did get a bag of skippers and sulfurs but nothing was lighting my fire. I shot this hopper just in passing. I am not enthused by hoppers, purely because they are almost impossible to ID as there is so little published information on Indonesian hoppers, I guess it is a glamor thing.

Back at the lab, when I pulled up all the images, the hopper was a clear winner. I wonder if it is glamorous enough for blip, certainly a change from yesterday. In any case, it is a while since I have blipped a hopper and considering their population, I think I have given them a bum deal.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.