The Final Window

I've decided that this will be my final lockdown window so I'm going out with bugs.  The number of families passing the window has decreased considerably as restrictions have eased so there aren't as many 'visitors'.  It's a weekly project which has given me lots of enjoyment and given me a focus at times when I needed it.

The gas woman cometh this morning and, thankfully, we don't need to invest in a new boiler, but we won't have hot water till tomorrow as the flue needs replacing and the boiler needs a new valve.

It's been a morning of jobs around the gas issue.  I've put the first coat of paint on the lawnmower box and sanded down/applied the first coat of teak oil on neighbour M's garden seat.  Tony and I carried it down to our house this morning and it is exactly the same seat as my Mum and Dad's which now sits outside our house.  They must have been purchased in a similar era.  Tony went off to put some petrol in the car, which is a novelty, and to brave B&Q, which definitely was not fun and not to be repeated.  Meanwhile, I said goodbye to A the gas woman till tomorrow, filled the feeders and watered the pots.

I'm debating whether or not to join a small group of Hobblers going for a run later today.  I would love to go but we have been quiet for so long that any activity involving more than a couple of folks is still scary.

The nasturtiums in the front window are going as bananas as my hair.  The originals came from some plants from my Dad and they have been in various parts of the garden and allotment.  They always make me pause and think of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.