Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Gatekeeper

Our garden was alive with butterflies and other flying creatures this afternoon.  I counted at least 10 peacock butterflies on the buddleia, and lots of gatekeepers preferring the hemp agrimony.  But most of the gatekeepers were keeping their wings folded, whereas this one - in a shaft of sunlight, was clearly sunbathing.

In extras is a bird - not the best shot, but it would keep moving about.  It looks to me like a wren, but its call was not the typical wren song - more a persistent chirp chirp chirp.  Very loud.  And the wren was much more daring and cheeky than I usually associate with wrens.  It came much closer than this, but was constantly on the move, so I didn't get any photos.  I did wonder if it was a juvenile robin, but it has the typical upturned tail of the wren.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.