radiohead

Still sorting through cupboards and old stuff..

This is the lid of a box which once held one of my most prized possessions - a transistor radio given to me by my parents on my 10th birthday in 1971. It was called am Ajax Diplomat ("portable radio in leatherette casing - Medium and Long Wave") and how I loved it! I used to listen under the covers when I was supposed to be asleep. I'd move the tuning dial up and down the stations, excited at the sound of foreign tongues, the thought of people talking in places I might go to one day. I listened to Radio Caroline and Capital Radio. I enjoyed late night phone ins on subjects my parents might not have approved of. It really did open up a whole new world for me.

I still listen to radio but it's not radical nowadays.

The radio is long gone but the box houses some good memories - letters, tickets, programmes and leaflets from the 1970s. I spent a happy hour looking through them :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.