Five things

By fivethings

Brandy helps

1. The last time I was on the Sleeper was 1989. We had a family holiday in London and traveled down overnight. My brother and I shared one cabin and mum and dad another.

2. I could literally not bear the excitement of the trip, the taxi picked us up from Girvan late, took us to the station to catch the train to catch the sleeper. Can you imagine? What man? Late night train travel to go on holiday. That is literally the best thing ever.

3. Later of course, Alfred Hitchcock added to the whole thing and I started to realise just how romantic train travel is. At least in my mind.

4. I take two trains a day, sometimes more. I pay stupid prices for tickets, am insulted by rude service and people who hate their jobs rolling their eyes at me on a regular basis. There is a stink of stale beer, bad burger king and chips. If you are lucky. But still.

5. Still. Every once and so often, when you are on your holidays, a wee jaunt in the sleeper is ever so much fun. Though, as the title suggests, brandy helps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.