Lovesong

1. Lovesong is the title of the new Frantic Assembly show currently on at the Citizens theatre in Glasgow. I went to see it for two reasons - I love the company and the response to it on twitter was outstanding.

2. I was expecting to be moved and brought hankies. I was right and I am glad I had. This is powerful, tender and lovely stuff. Throw in some trademark movement and the script is enhanced to a whole new level.

3. Not that it needs it. It's written by Abi Morgan who is having a belter of a time just now - she wrote Iron Lady and Birdsong and two of our shows that are out and about. There's something that she does with words that has a very strong affect on me.

4. I don't remember the last time I sat in a theatre and heard the sound of sobbing. It's really not something that happens that often. There's something wonderful about the collective experience - fear, laughter or saddness.

5. Bleary and teary and a little red faced we head to clockwork, where just along from us I notice a couple sitting side by side (you can't see her). They aren't talking. I don't think they've run out of things to say, instead I think they are just happy to sit in each other's company. Content with silence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.