Kingdom of the Grouse

It's a small grouse and a big kingdom!

The sleety rain turned to sleety slow last night and I woke up here to see the moor glazed with a fresh dusting of white. It felt good to be able to take a walk up on the moor before taking the train into work, a sign that the days are lengthening and Spring can't be too far away. My choice for today's blip came down to two shots. It was very nearly this Snowball Holder (evolution is truly amazing), but this shot got the final nod. Landscape will always be my first love.

Thanks again for all the great support for my street photography. It never ceases to amaze me just how many opportunities arise in just a few minutes of loitering on a street corner. It's a pity that the dog had its backside to the camera, but the dry cleaning sign was very much an added bonus. I love those quirky juxtapositions.

Thanks also for your further thoughts on this problem posed by trying to sort the wheat from the chaff of all our hoarded possessions. There is great wisdom in the comment left by Marieclaire, who pointed out that it's all about memory, not to live in the past but, in her words, to understand tomorrow. I like that a lot. As we get older those little ticket stubs and postcards and such like serve to trigger the memories that we don't want to lose, much the way my daily blip does now. I can look back to a year ago, see where I was, and realise that it was a very special day indeed. I love it that these memories are now preserved in such an immediate form on this site.

Just like blip enforces the discipline to post just one photo a day, I guess we need to impose the same kind of discipline when it comes to the physical blips of our life. It's a matter of selectivity. I think that's going to help me in the process I've just started. I've got a lot of boxes left to sift through.

Finally, apposite to my blip today is this short feature from The Daily Mash. It's worth a quick read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.