FINDING JOY IN SIMPLE THINGS

It won’t surprise you to know that we spent more hours in the green gym this morning - there is such a lot to do but we are gradually working our way through the many jobs.  I have been saying to Mr. HCB for a while that we need to make a list - not a scrappy list on a piece of paper that will get lost, but a PROPER List in my List Book!  He is not a list-maker, but I am and I find joy in putting a tick beside a job on that list when it's been done.  

We now have that list, which I sat and wrote out whilst we were in the garden having our cup of coffee between jobs - all 15 numbered points on one page - and I could easily fill another two or three pages, but one page will do for the moment.

Whilst we were sitting on the patio, I heard a banging and as I could see a red van parked outside through the glass door, went indoors and out through the kitchen door to find the postman standing on the low wall near our front door, trying desperately hard not to stand on the drive - having seen my Notice - and saying that he was trying to get the letters through the door without doing any damage - bless him!

He handed me the post and I was thrilled to see an envelope from America and inside was a beautiful card from a Blip friend, with some lovely words inside - so thank you - you know who you are - I am touched by your words and will treasure the card.  

There was also a slightly larger package with some beautiful pale mauve material, also from a Blip friend - together with some other cards - and more encouraging words - I am doubly blessed today - so thank you - again, you know who you are.  What a wonderful community this is - there is such love and concern and in these strange and challenging times, it does my heart good to be the recipient of such pleasures.  

I was reading the other day that writing - and not on the laptop, but by putting pen to paper to send messages of love and encouragement to family and friends - is an art that not only blesses the recipient, but also has health and brain-boosting benefits.  For instance, it helps us to learn new things more easily and rapidly, it boosts brain health in old age (that’s one definitely for me then!), it spurs people on to new goals, it encourages positive thinking, it’s good for mental health and much more.  I make my own cards and love writing to people - and I know from the responses I get from those I write to that they are appreciated.  

I started off in the garden by moving stones from the back border, but then moved on to dead-heading several of our plants and found that for some reason, several stems on our Compassion rose had been bent over, so that some of the flowers were dying.  I snipped one of these off, and put it into the top of this lantern, intending to bring it indoors so that I could enjoy the beauty and perfume of the roses, rather than just consign them to my trug where I was collecting all the deadheads.  After I had done this, I realised that it looked quite beautiful so whipped out my phone, took a shot and here it is.  We often overlook the simple things in life but I’m so glad I saw this and enjoyed the moment.  I have put another shot in as an extra, showing the area around, but rather liked this one.  I can see, though, that I need to add something else to my list - “Repaint the lanterns”!  The roses are now on my kitchen windowsill, where I am appreciating their beauty and the wonderful perfume too. 

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your day - it’s raining where we are now, but I’m sure the sun will come out tomorrow - and if not tomorrow, then the next day!

I found two quotes and couldn’t decide which to use, so have two for one today and be blessed.  M xx 

“Connecting with those you know love, 
     like and appreciate you 
          restores the spirit 
               and gives you energy 
                    to keep moving forward in this life.”
Deborah Day

“The grandeur of God 
     reveals itself through 
          simple things.”
Paulo Coelho

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.