a town called E.

By Eej

Poes

In her younger years my Mam was an accomplished and fervent seamstress. She'd also knit and crochet. At a certain point she took up making stuffed animals, of which this one, aptly named Poes (Cat) was an early example. I don't know the exact year she was made, but I know the occasion; Sinterklaas (December 5th). I'd estimate Poes is going on 40 - and still going strong.
I am from a long line of Keepers of Things - we aren't hoarders, we keep our own and our families history.

I keep a poncho my oldest sister got me on her honeymoon, in 1970.
I keep a sheet of paper my Dad outlined his vegetable patch on, probably one of his last.
I keep Poes. And Pollewop, Eenoog, Panda and Lissy.

I won't speak for the others, but my reasons for hanging on to things, not just old toys, is similar to why I Blip; it's evidence of my existence, of events, of people. One day my mind might go feeble, and I might forget half my life - but I'll have reminders. And I'll have this Blip :)






p.s. I guess I wasn't entirely truthful when I recently stated I don't have many stuffed toys :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.