Aromatherapy

Today I needed a lift. I started my day at the lab having my blood taken for regular check up. Drove home in the fog and slush from the warmer temps and the snow melting. Spent the day with watching my grandson who wanted to learn how to use my digital slr and found the zoom feature especially facinating. I think he had plans to spy on the neighbors but I settled him on taking pictures of passing cars instead.
After my grandson left I tried to get my granddaughter to take a nap and well, she didn't exactly get on board with that idea but somehow I ended up taking a nap anyway! I woke up feeling groggy and moody. I decided to try and snap out of it by burning some essential oils.
Aromatherapy oils have been used forever to do everything from enhancing moods to improving well- being. I read that the body has the ability to sense over 10,000 different scents. The scents from the oils travel from the nose to the brain and then endorphins and other chemicals are released to make us feel better.
I'm all about feeling better!!
For the holidays my son and his fiancé gave me a unique gift. It's a handmade blue ceramic stove-shaped essential oil burner. It looks like an old fashioned stove for a dollhouse that has a little kettle on top to hold the oil and a ceramic pan for holding the tea lite candle inside the 'oven'.
Along with it they have me a bunch of different organic essential oil combinations that are geared toward different needs. There is a Stress Relief, Awake, Well Being, Relax etc.
When I burn these oils in my little 'stove' I notice myself taking deeper breaths and inhaling the wonderful smells that seem to calm my nerves and transform my emotions. Hopefully it's also doing a little healing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.