Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Speckled Wood

I was up early (ish) today for a10am Zoom meeting. Normally every year members of Anglican Cursillo from across the UK gather for a celebratory weekend. This year we should have been in London, starting in St Paul's Cathedral and finishing in Southwark Cathedral. Those plans of course had to be re-thought and he event had been postponed to 2022, (we're in Norwich next year, 2021) instead, 106 of us met via Zoom. It was lovely to see kent faces checking in from Aberdeen to Exeter and St Asaph to Grimsby and most points in between. A very positive couple of hours.

After lunch, Colin and I went for a walk, along the cycle path to Roseburn then down the Water of Leith to Stockbridge and back again. 5.9 miles, sadly I didn't have good walking shoes on so I'm suffering a bit this evening. I spotted the Speckled Wood butterfly on the cycle track, wood it stay still though... so the pics are not as sharp as I'd like. You should see what they've done to the bridge over the Water of Leith at Roseburn, its like a boulevard now, very fancy.

The field mushrooms in my extra were out of my reach just off the Riverside path or they'd have been in the frying pan this evening!

We stopped in Soderberg for a coffee, and I had a banana and chocolate scone which was a lot nicer than it sounds... nice and heavy on the chocolate, yum! Stockbridge was busier than I've seen it in a long time, don't think I'll go back again on a Saturday, not nice. Everyone was distancing wherever possible and masks were donned in shops, just very busy. We thought we'd come back via Inverleith pond which was a lot more peaceful. There was a guy sitting by the pond having a great time feeding the wildfowl while trying not to feed the persistent pigeons and the young and very noisy Gulls.

We had some more onion soup for dinner and some odds and ends gathered out of the fridge, all very tasty.

Numbers are going up, perhaps due to more tests being carried out, perhaps because we are being less cautious. Please stay safe and take care everybody. FACTS.

Steps today 17476

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.