Duma Reflecting

Here is Mr. Duma and his reflection in our deck sliding door. He is forever charming and beautiful in both Arvin's and my eyes. Press "L" for the large view.

Today is Valentine's Day. I have had mixed feelings about this day for years. I am very happy with my sweet husband and try to be sure to tell him I love him at least once a day. So having a special day for the purpose seems just a bit off to me. More a way to give the card, candy and flower sellers a good sales day than a day about love. And when I was young, it was actually a painful day due to the fact that all kids had to bring valentines for all other kids and sometimes the ones I got were not all that sweet. I was not popular and didn't get the idea about boys and romance until way late. In grade school, no way Jose! And I got teased. Valentines were just another way for kids to get my goat. No details necessary but suffice it to say I did not like the day.

Turned out that both Arvin and I had not managed to get cards or gifts for each other and we were planning to go shopping this morning. Arvin wanted to get me a card but I actually suggested he not do that. Instead we began our day with a very sweet snuggle and some talk about how lucky we both are to have each other. That is the ticket for this day, we thought. And we went on with our normal activities.

I spent the morning pulling together fourteen paintings for a show at the Belwether Hotel. I got an email just a couple of days ago from Allied Arts asking if I had some paintings I could show there for the month of March. Great opportunity for me and paintings for them to show. Win win if you ask me.

This evening we are picking Steve and Kai up at the airport. They have been skiing in Montana and need a ride home from the airport. Maybe we'll all have dinner together. Who knows?

Have a happy Valentine's Day all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.