Korean Artisan

Woke with a wicked headache which I had to ignore in order to drive into city centre to pay rates bill and do our weekly shopping for groceries. Decided on coffee at Arthur Barnetts - a department shop - in the Meridian mall. Usually nice and quiet down there but today it was quite noisy which did nothing for the throbbing of my brain.

Mother decided to do her lottery ticket at the Lotto counter and then as we made for the lifts to get the car we came across this delightful Korean man making delightfully whimsical characters on paper. He used calligraphy pens for the chinese characters and what looked like rubber wedges to make the butterflies and other critters that decorated the paper. Mother bought me one done around my name and the artist was very happy to have me take photos of how he worked. He was so fast that it only took him 5 minutes to do my name scroll and cost $10. Fascinating to watch and beautiful to behold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.