'Old mans beard' is one of the many names

associated with Clematis vitalba, 'Traveller's Joy' being another that I'm familiar with. So pretty, & sparkly, when the sun shines through it as it scrambles through the hedgerow. I quite often pick some for decorating indoors at Xmas time.
There is a rather lovely vase of flowers here in the house, 3 stems of Ornithogalum saundersiae/Giant chincherinchee, neither of which easy to pronounce or spell, but I thought it was a Ornithogalum, very striking as the creamy white tepals surround a dark green black ovary. I spent a little time photographing it but did'nt do it justice.
I met hubby for a coffee at lunch time, the weather rather inclement, not suitable for strolling the seafront at Teignmouth, knowing how he feel's the cold, & of course, not bringing a jacket, so he went in one direction, I the other.
The gardener imagine Steptoe x grandad in Only Fools & Horses, was here when I arrived back, sat in his van along with his dog, I'm not sure what breed. French Bulldog or similar.
Yogi continues to pester me with one of the numerous balls he has scattered about the place, but he is still quite lame so definitely NO games. We walked the road to Arch Brook Creek this afternoon then back along the shoreline. Lots of china fragments, not all interesting, Yogi has a nasty habit of eating small dead shore crabs, crunching away, I'm always worried there maybe adverse effects .. :-(( None so far I hasten to add. I hope that has'nt tempted fate. Crab tiling can be seen all along the estuary at low tide, the fishermen working rapidly between tides to harvest the soft shell crab,. In 2016 the IFCA (Inshore Fisheries & Conservation Authority)  counted 12,865 crab tiles on the estuary. The crab tiles can be terracotta tiling, plastic tubing, corrugated iron, & chimney pots. That for me is another question answered. I've often spotted men out on the estuary at low tide lifting objects out of the mud. The crab shelter here while they shed their old shell, known as 'peelers', when growing their new shell they apparently  emit a hormone which attracts fish. The crab are used as bait by anglers. I would like to have found the numbers for 2020, as a comparison, as this count is made every four years, but I've not been successful.
Walking back along the lane I spotted this Old Man's Beard. Oh! I thought. O. Then all I had to do was make a decent photo. When we arrived back there was a wire rack with 4 lettuce & 4 freshly dug parsnips outside the front door. I'll clean them off & pop them in the fridge for the owners return. The gardener had gone.
It feels like Xmas here. parcels keep getting delivered ... They're not mine of course.
Currently watching 'Master of Photography' on Sky Arts. This episode they are focusing on the human body.

Thanks to Philippa aka ApolloFly for hosting Tiny Tuesday, the subject 'the letter O'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.