The Souter Stone

Tony had an orienteering site meeting in Derbyshire today, for the British Middle Champs, so he dropped me off at Chatsworth en route. The House and Gardens are not yet open for the season which I wasn't too bothered about. My attention span for great house interiors is very limited! Instead I set off through the Estate Woodland to try and get above the inversion which filled the valley and obscured the house from view. Halfway up the hill in Stand Wood I came across the Souter Stone. This is the pool on the top of the stone and I took this blip on the way back down as the sun was trying to disperse the mist so there was a bit of colour in the pool but it was still quite magical. By the time I got back to the Stables (which now house the cafe and shops) the mist had completely gone and the house was on view in all its splendour. I'll add a link to the rest of my photos when I have finished uploading them. After a bowl of hearty soup I walked along the river to try and blip the House, then climbed back up through the wood to the Hunting Tower, which is now tourist accommodation and has tremendous views. By the time I was heading back down, Tony was on his way to pick me up so we had another bite to eat!

I think this probably looks better in large. Here are my other blips from today. Pride and Prejudice movie fans may well recognise where Keira Knightly ran away from Mr Darcy as Chatsworth doubled for Pemberley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.