A three reservoir morning

This morning, enjoying the extra hour, we set off to walk at three local reservoirs. I've had to change the criterion for inclusion in the Reservoirs of Lockdown project. Originally it had been the reservoirs in the Ochil and Touch Hills. I'd already thought that I could stretch the Touch Hills to include the Gargunnock and Fintry Hills because they run into each other. But I'm still going to run out of reservoirs at this rate if I don't cast the net a bit wider. The rule is now that the reservoir should feature on the bespoke OS map hanging on the wall of the upstairs landing. The map was printed with Stirling at the centre rather than, as usual, on an annoying crease or edge. This increases the options by quite a number.

Today's reservoirs were Little Denny and Drumbowie, both of which just make it onto the map. I have driven past these reservoirs times without number on the motorway to Glasgow. I'd never have known about them but for Blipper Ivar's journal. Isn't blip wonderful?

After walking at both reservoirs in a fairly stiff breeze and a bit of drizzle we returned by way of Faughlin Reservoir, as blipped. This reservoir is even nearer home than the other two and is, in my view, the most attractive.  Lots of anglers so we didn't do the circuit. The last thing they needed was an excitable dog disturbing the fish.

The extra hour is a gift for the busy and industrious. But it will be dark shortly after 5pm and that's a bit of a thought. Need to get any outside tasks done before then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.