Reservoir's full

I'm going to try to make an autumn/winter project of visiting all the reservoirs in the Ochil and Touch ('Tooch' not 'Touch' as in physical contact) Hills. Recently I've walked to a few, and blipped some, but beyond the well known ones (to me anyway) there are many more.

We don't have Wednesday childminding as it's the school half term and the girls are on holiday. So this morning, after a lazier than usual start for a Wednesday, we set off to see Loch Coulter and Buckieburn Reservoirs. The blip is the water gague at Loch Coulter. It's like an enormous measuring tape disappearing into the loch. Luckily there was a water engineer at Loch Coulter who explained that the tower (see extra) is too short for the gague. Normally it would be fixed to the side but in this case the gague had to be calibrated to the side of the reservoir. The things you learn. The water level shown here indicates that the reservoir is full.

The engineer kindly gave us directions to Buckieburn Reservoir and we walked up the track to it too. I'm going to keep a log so I don't forget and blip will help.

Bit of a damp morning but I believe it's to be dry this afternoon. There's some blue sky showing as I blip. I've got my zoom yoga class tonight. The studio is shut again because of the tighter restrictions. The last few weeks have been a blend of in-person and online yoga. I haven't been tempted back to the studio though I would love to be able to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.