One Street

I've taken to carrying my small camera in my pocket when I go out on errands ever since I missed a heron in the field by the fish 'n' chip shop! I had lots of postcards to send today after my visit to Chatsworth at the weekend so I popped down to the post office and enjoyed the warm, sunny day walking back up the hill. Our neighbours' border along their drive is always a source of colour so I thought I would blip our street with that as the foreground. If you look closely you might be able to see the elder tree where I do most of my birdblips!

This side of our 1840s street is known as Low Side because there were separate houses up on the road side and below here. The houses on Low Side were two roomed, for young couples who worked at the textiles and mohair mill in the village and they ran underneath two separate family houses on High Side. In more recent times most of the houses were knocked through and staircases added into the basements, but a couple are still split as they were originally. When we moved into our house, some 30+ years ago, there was a keeping cellar in our basement kitchen which we did not have access to for some time. It was accessed through our neighbour's basement and the deeds said that they had to pay us one penny each year for its use. When next door was modernised the occupants blocked up the access to the keeping cellar and we knocked down the walls on our side to extend the kitchen. If you followed all of that, give yourselves a pat on the back!

The postman brought two very different postcards today - one of teepee accommodation in the Lake District (looks good trevor!) and a giant one from itchythumbs with a map of Texas which, as an orienteer, is right up my street! She is also celebrating her 730th Blipday today so be sure to drop by her journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.