a town called E.

By Eej

Oakley in the Snow

It was blowing snow sideways on my way home which made my walk much more exciting. I had just gotten my camera out when I saw someone cross the street who looked like he was enjoying himself as much as me. As he passed me, he said: "It's a bit cold!" Well, at 17F(-8C) he wasn't wrong and I had regretted not putting on my wind suit since I stepped outside, but something made me say: "I kinda like it!"
It was like I had hit him in the face with something awesome that loudly said TALK TO ME because all of sudden I was knee deep in a conversation about The Force of Mother Nature, Tornadoes and Blizzards.

Oakley (I hope I've spelled it correctly) once saw a tornado pass him at about a hundred yards, lying in a ditch in Nebraska. He video taped it, he said, and beamed it to the weather station. "Did you see cows flying?" I asked. "Yes! No! There was a lot of debris! And there was a lot of lightning! I was standing like this! (he posed) I LOVE the Force of Mother Nature! You must be a crazy weather freak like me!"
I felt rather inadequate - I like snowstorms and wind and dramatic clouds - but I fear that doesn't qualify me as a Crazy Weather Freak. Then again: We were the only people outside in a blowing snowstorm, and I was taking photos so maybe that gave me a little street cred.
Oakley was very enthusiastic and genuinely happy to talk so I guess it didn't matter. "It must have been both scary and exciting", I said, "being in a tornado." "IT WAS! WOOOOOOOOOO! If I could follow tornadoes all the time I'd do it for free!"
"Well, loving what you do is more important than making money, isn't it?"
He nodded in excited agreement.
I told him it was nice talking to him, and he introduced himself. I did the same and shook his big orange-gloved hand with my purple one. Then I finally had the courage to ask if I could take his photo. He immediately sprung in position. "OF COURSE!" Unprepared, so with the wrong lens, facing a busy road and with zero visibility I managed 1 photo without a car in it. It really didn't matter; it wasn't about getting a good portrait, I wanted a snapshot of this moment.

"Erica", he said, "maybe we'll meet each other here again, us Crazy Weather Freaks. Or maybe one day we'll meet in Nebraska when there's a tornado!"
I laughed and waved goodbye.

I heard him hooting and hollering in the distance, happily braving the Force of Mother Nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.