Blue Crocus

It was lovely to be back on our usual walk today, in the sunshine, but a bitterly cold and sneaky wind accompanied us. The church yard is still full of drifting snowdrops, but a few crocuses are coming through now.

The work has progressed on the house adjoining the churchyard, and as I feared all the beautiful berried ivy has gone, along with some bushes. I see they've saved the holly tree for now. A lovely old flint wall has been revealed, I'm hoping that survives.


Soon as the frost will get out of my bed,
From this cold dungeon to free me,
I will peer up with my little bright head,
And all will be joyful to see me.

Then from my heart will young petals diverge,
As rays of the sun from their focus;
I from the darkness of earth shall emerge,
A happy and beautiful Crocus!

Many, perhaps, from so simple a flower,
This little lesson may borrow,
Patient today, through its gloomiest hour,
We come out the brighter tomorrow.

Hannah F. Gould - 1789-1865

From The Crocus's Soliloquy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.