SueScape

By SueScape

Hellebore

Going on holiday is all very well, but it seems to take me forever to catch up. Busy day. I still have to collect Hermione after her MOT, the first time ever I can walk to the garage to pick her up. Village living has its advantages.

This hellebore was growing outside a cottage I passed walking home. Extremely hard to photograph as they WILL hang their heads making any shot of their centres very awkward. Bottom in the air outside someone's window, I did get a few funny looks. Although it is toxic, it seems to have been used long ago for treating mental illness, and as a kind of snuff. Don't try this at home! Even Casanova got it wrong occasionally ...


"I had about me a small box containing hellebore. I opened it as if by instinct, and invited her to take a small pinch. She did so, and I followed her example; but the dose was too strong, and as we were going up the stairs we began to sneeze..... "

The Memoires of Casanova, Complete
by Jacques Casanova de Seingalt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.